Creating a REST API in Python using Bottle and MongoDB

A simple example how to implement a REST API with bottle.py

My Adventures in Coding

I have been using Bottle and MongoDB for a REST API project for almost a year now. I frequently get asked the question “Bottle, what is Bottle, I have never heard of it” and “Ok, I have read the Bottle tutorial, it is simple, but how do I use Bottle with MongoDB?”. So I decided to write up a simple “Getting Started” tutorial for my friends curious about these technologies.

Prerequisites: Python 2.7 or higher

Setup MongoDB

MongoDB is a document store, a schema less database. What makes MongoDB unique (and why we decided to use it) is that MongoDB is a hybrid document store. What this means is that MongoDB offers the freedom of storing data in a schema less fashion, while still providing a flexible query syntax that will make anyone familiar with SQL feel comfortable.

You will need to download the latest version of MongoDB from the

View original post 420 more words

Leave a Reply

